Mover and shakers

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. My passion for the home has never dwindled, but my action on this website has.

So, in an effort to rekindle my writing and share my love, I’m back!

A lot has happened in the two years since I moved to London. Well, really I’ve just been travelling and I’m now living in my third London flat.

My husband and I recently and very sadly left a stunning, brand new apartment in South East London. After leaving our first London apartment that was less than 400 square feet, this place at nearly 600 square feet was like a castle. We kept pinching ourselves saying, ‘I can’t believe we get to live here!’ and even though we had to furnish it, it was a joy to do and the apartment was a joy to be in. I loved showing it off and we loved hosting friends for dinner, and I even had it featured in Apartment Therapy’s Small, Cool Contest! I often just sat in various parts of the main room and just admired it.

Here are some of the photos from when I first moved in March 2016

Of course, items were added over time, but photos were not taken and I never got around to posting. Sadly, in December we were told our rent was increasing significantly. We tried to negotiate the number down unsuccessfully, so we’ve just moved.

We’ve moved into another Victorian conversion, a little less shiny than the last and it’s come with some challenges. Mainly, we brought a full apartment-worth of furniture into a furnished apartment. So, until we figure out what to do with the double items, such as the mattress leaning against our bedroom wall, I may be slow to post pictures of the new place. But, the positives: the neighbourhood is lovely and it’s much closer to the city centre, and amenities such as pubs, coffee shops and restaurants. For the first time in my life, I live in a home in which the kitchen and the bathroom have windows. This may not seem significant, but to a lifelong apartment dweller, I love having light in every room in my home. We have a fireplace! Granted, it has a gas insert, but I can use the mantle for displaying my treasures. It has more storage than we even need. This is definitely a first for one of our London homes.

We’ve launched my visa application to move to Australia, hopefully to move by the end of the year, so we know our time in this apartment is limited. At first I thought this meant I wasn’t going to bother too much with decorating, as the landlord isn’t overly enthused with us putting holes in walls, but since all of our earthly possessions will eventually go on a container ship to the other side of the world, I’m sure I’ll stock up on a few more bits and pieces!

In fact, next week I’ll be doing a workshop in which I’ll be creating my own weaved wall hanging. I’m excited! So, I think for my next post, I’ll look at some of my favourite decor items that don’t go on walls.

Happy Friday!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

