I. Got. A. Job.

Finally. Just shy of three months living in the UK, I can feel like I belong instead of feeling like I’m just visiting.

It’s funny, after all that rejection, including two rejections yesterday, one company offered me a position an hour and a half after my interview. It’s not my dream job with my dream company, but I’m choosing to look at it as a step in the right direction.

I’m going to be a media relations executive for a charity. Essentially, I feel like this role decides my career path. Previous to this, my path had been 50% journalism, and 50% communications – this now sort of shows I’m moving into communications. I think I’m OK with that. I wish that it wasn’t so traditional communications – I hated media calls – and I wish it was more modern, by way of digital and/or social media, but they’ve made me feel they’d be open to me moving in that direction in the future.

It was also my first attempt at negotiating my salary, which I did unsuccessfully. I’m still not sure how I feel about that – part of me thought I should stick to my guns and not accept lower than I believe my value, with my education and experience, to be, but part of me is so sick of interviews and heartbreak that I accepted it.

Via The Telegraph
Via The Telegraph

I’m not sure it was right, but I want to help husband, I want to treat him to dinner when I want, or buy something without charging to my Canadian credit card. Also, we are saving for a “wedding” for our family and friends in a few months’ time in Australia. But most importantly, I want to feel like I’m a part of this city by meeting people, having purpose and contributing.

I like the idea of moving into charitable roles, some day I’d like to work for a literacy charity, (or a book publisher!) and perhaps this is a good first step. I’m going to choose to look at it for all its positives, and if it’s not for me, I’ll keep an eye out for my next move.

Phew.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Congratulations! I’m glad you’re staying positive, who knows what other opportunities you might stumble upon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

