Showing love

I’ve been thinking about love lately.

Well, I’ve been thinking about love since I met my husband nearly two years ago. Before him, I’d never known real love. (Except the platonic love of friends and family, but that’s not what I’m talking about here)

Before him, my own feelings and concerns came first. Now, I care more about his happiness than my own. I know he feels the same way.

Every day I think about how lucky I am to have met someone as wonderful as him. I feel like for both of us, because we’re in a new country and don’t know a lot of people, we’re a real team. It’s us against the world.

Yesterday, I got yet another job rejection. This was a job I really wanted, and I was devastated. Even though I know he wants me to work because we could use the money, he did nothing but comfort me, hold me and offer advice. He never pressures me.

Taken in the Netherlands as we were getting to know eachother, just days before we said
Taken in the Netherlands as we were getting to know each other, just days before we said “I love you” for the first time. That was the best five weeks of my life.

So I try my best to show him love every day. I wish I could afford to buy him things and take him on trips, and I hope that comes soon.

I show him love by doing things that makes him happy. I try to uplift him at the end of the day. Welcome him home with a kiss and a hug because I know he’s not happy in his job. I sometimes leave notes on the bed or the bathroom to make him smile. I put toothpaste on his toothbrush when I’m about to brush my teeth just so he doesn’t have to do it. (I never even thought about it the first time I did it, but he said it’s something so little, but he loves it.) I don’t cook, but I try to have food chopped, a glass of water for him because he cycles to and from work. Because I’m not working, I keep everything neat and organised so he doesn’t have to worry while he’s home. It’s the best I can do until I can provide for us as well.

I try to tell him all the time how handsome he is, how happy he makes me and several times a day that I love him. I read a lot of blog relationship advice posts, because this relationship is more important to me than anything else, and I want to make it the best it can be (after all, I had been single for most of the last 10 years before he came into my life, I was no relationship expert.)

I’ve read that as a marriage progresses people often take it for granted, and I never want to do that. I think it’s because I was single so long, I’m so happy to be in a loving relationship, I want to nurture it the best I can. He’s doing what he can to nurture me in a time when I’m feeling low fairly often. I’m not saying it’s perfect, but it’s wonderful.

I guess, what I’m trying to say is, while I’m going through a hard time, focusing my energy, attention and love to the person I love most gets me through my days.

How do you show love? It doesn’t have to be a partner, but anyone whom you love? I love advice and suggestions!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Keep up the job hunt- I’m in the same boat as you but don’t worry we got this! This might be weird but I took this quiz when I was a Don that was something along the lines of “how do you show love” and mine is similar to yours, by helping someone. My co-workers had different results: physical affection (lots of hugs), through gifts, and even through written words. It’s just really interesting to see how other people show love and keeping those different results in the back of my mind for how to comfort friends/family when they need some love šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

