Sunday marketing

Since I didn’t leave my flat yesterday, I figured today I should get out and do something Sundayish. There are a number of markets around the city, and I’ve been to several, but I felt like getting to East London, so I headed toward Brick Lane.

Brick Lane was once associated with slums and poverty, and it’s the scene for the famous Jack the Ripper murders. However, as cities do, gentrification barged in, and it’s now a cool place to be.

The markets themselves sell mostly clothing, shoes, jewellery, leather goods and some household items. If you’re looking for cheap finds, you should check it out.

I walked around for a while, then headed to nearby Petticoat Lane, By 1608, which has been selling clothes and bric-à-brac since 1608, and Old Spitalfields Market, which has a market on the site for over 350 years.

There’s a number of pubs, coffee shops and restaurants of all kinds in the area, so it’s definitely worth making a trip. It’s also near the City of London financial district, and nearby St. Paul’s Cathedral, so lots to see in close proximity. However, since I was by myself, I just bought myself a little cactus and called it a day.

FullSizeRender (11)
East London, where old meets odd. This is Lloyd’s building (back), also known as the “Inside Out Building”
FullSizeRender (10)
The Walkie Talkie building, also known as 20 Fenchurch Street.
FullSizeRender (9)
The Cheesegrater (left) aka The Leadenhall Building, and the Gherkin aka 30 St Mary Axe, in London’s financial district, near East London.
Outside Spitafields Market
Outside Spitalfields Market
Spitafields Market in East London
Spitafields Market in East London
FullSizeRender (7)
Lots of deals to be found in clothing, jewellery and some household products
Petticoat Lane Market
Petticoat Lane Market
My purchase for the day.
My purchase for the day.
Leave a Reply

