Working on up and feeling good

Ok, I promise not to have all my posts be about finding work here in London, but it’s pretty well taken over 80 per cent of my waking thoughts, and after seeing a recruiter yesterday, I feel better about my chances of working in the next little while, and more importantly, about myself.

images

She helped me cut my resume, excuse me, CV, way down. She also pointed out I still need to learn that British spelling goes beyond how the English spell organisation. That’s something I need work on, and I’ll be more aware of it. But aside from picking apart my resume, she gave me hope. She said applying to jobs below my experience level is a waste of time, and with some patience, I will get there.

Today I applied to a position that got me excited. I haven’t felt that excited since I interviewed and got my contract position at CBC. I knew what I was talking about, I felt confident, and I do feel positive about the role. I really, really hope I’m considered for it. It encompasses my professional strengths in online news and social media, and my personal passions (travel) so fingers crossed!

I also got an email that I’ve moved onto the next stage of a part-time editing position that actually involves being a Canadian editor. So things are looking up!

It’s amazing what a difference a day makes. The other day I felt so down on myself, feeling like my accomplishments were nearly worthless, that I wasn’t really good enough at anything, and today I have hope and confidence again.

How I felt and how I now feel makes me think about people in general. The people who feel that way all the time – not good enough, not smart enough, not talented enough, not good-looking enough.

cropped-screen-shot-2014-02-21-at-11-06-25-pm

My heart breaks when I think of what sad thoughts go through the heads of people. We only get one life, and while it’s human nature to have negative thoughts once and a while, to think that way most of the time is wasting the short time we get to live. It also makes me angry to think of others who make those people feel that way. Remember the story of the Dancing Man? The man whose picture went viral after someone posting pictures of his size while dancing at a nightclub? That story really affected me. Thankfully, it affected a lot of people around the world, and he’s about to be celebrated, and money is being raised for charity at the same time.

We’ve all done it, I assume. Judged. But in the last several years, since I moved to Toronto and experienced various cultures and styles and ways of thinking, I’ve really tried to be open-minded and think, ‘if it makes them happy, leave ’em alone’ and I think it’s a constant process.

Recently falling in love and marrying the man of my dreams has made happiness even more important for me. I’m happy when he’s happy. I’ll do whatever it takes to make him smile, make him realise what a wonderful human being he is, and I think he feels the same way about me. When he comes home at night, the first thing he gets is a big hug and kiss and an ‘I missed you today’ or ‘I’m so glad you’re home’, I think it’s really important. (Since I’m new to this marriage thing, I read a lot of blogs on how to have a good marriage.) I read something recently about starting a conversation with a loved one when s/he comes home at the end of the day to get the evening off on the right track, by asking, ‘What made you smile today?’ I have yet to use it, but I will

What could you do today to make someone you care about smile? We could all use more smiles.

For more on making someone smile, check out this article on spreading happiness from Oprah.com.

Leave a Reply

