Wanderlust

“Wherever you go becomes a part of you somehow.”
― Anita Desai

It’s true, the more you see, the more you want to see. In the past two years, I’ve visited 13 countries with my now-husband. Aside from my formal education, it’s been the best learning experience of my life.

A big bonus of living in the UK is that so many countries are within our reach. It’s expensive to travel within and from Canada. A big bonus of being married to someone from across the world is that the rest of the world is at my reach.

In Europe, it’s really easy to get around via plane or train. Sites like Ryanair, EasyJet and Condor are just some. There’s also Eurostar to get you around by train, as well as national trains in each country. I like to visit Skyscanner to get an idea of what a trip will cost me, then head over to individual airline sites to compare prices.

While the husband works for an international hotel brand, we often budget travel and stay in cheaper hotels or – my favourite – rent apartments. Renting apartments gives you a better flavour for non-tourist areas, and it’s a great money saver as you don’t have to eat out for every meal. We’ve found apartments through air bnb as well as Booking.com

This is where I’ve been so far.

Leave a Reply

